• Help Support The Rugby Forum :

Blisters from boots?

S

Steve-o

I've been getting really bad blisters from boots every since I started playing in them. My current boots are Nike Total 90 III (15 plastic studs), they comfortable but I still get blisters from them. They're only a little big for me, about 1cm from the tip to my big toe.
I've tied them tighter, looser, and normally but the blisters still appear.
I only get them on the meaty part below my big toe, right on the border of the side and bottom of my foot.

Any suggestions to stop the blisters?

I used to have problems with my boots when i was younger, but then i took up jiu-jitsu and for the first few weeks i was tearing my feet up in the do-jo and after every session my teacher told me to bathe my feet in hot, salty water for 10 minutes. The bottom of my feet are really hard now and i don't suffer any problems with boots.

However, i can't honestly say whether it was the hot salty water that did it, or the years going nuts on a horrid floor where my feet were forced to be conditioned.
But it can't harm trying the hot salty water combo, right?

yeah I have similar problems. What kind of socks do you wear? Apparently, thicker socks help to stop it.

I wear those socks where the foot part is white and the material feels thicker than the rest of the socks material.
I also wear secret socks (lower ankle length) in practice sometimes.
All the socks I wear are cotton.
Thanks for the tip RC, I'll read up on it.

Steve-o, I have a few pairs of boots and those that you have is one of them.

With the Total 90 III, I strap my ankles with two layers of strapping on the heel (thats where I get my blisters). I'll take a picture of it on Thursday or Saturday, depending on when I wear them next.

I also get the blisters in the same place as you! The meaty part of the big toe, halfway between the side and bottom. Just wrap your toe in strapping tape.