• Help Support The Rugby Forum :

Evening lads !

• Thread starter A Crappy Winger
  • Start date
A

A Crappy Winger

Hey guys, I'm a member from ages ago, just found the forum again and thought I'd chuck in a few posts here and there.
A couple things about me :

I'm a 17 year old Kiwi, play Colts U21 Level rugby for Marist Albion In Christchurch NZ.
5'11 and 76 kgs at present but hopefully the gym can raise the weight ! I play as a fullback primarily, outside centre is my backup position
My main attributes as a rugby player are my pace and my evasive skills. I run 11.3 100 m on grass, haven't ever done track athletics so don't know about that.
And the evasiveness just comes from being pretty small in a game with big dudes and not wanting to get crushed!

So I'm no expert or anything, but if anyone wants to know anything about the game in NZ or anything about sidesteps, swerves or anything like that I can try to answer with what I've learnt from playing myself.
Just thought I'd let you know a bit about me!

Cheers

I've got a question for you, Crappy.

If you are in fact a fullback then why is your name "A Crappy Winger"? I won't stand for inconsistency

Surely it means he's good at FB or OC, but not on the wing?

For a fullback, (My prefered position as well, although I frequently end up on the wing as well.) the best advice about attacking is to know exactly where and when to enter the line, and picking your running angles and lines. The best way to do this is just through trying various ways of running at the gaps. (I find it more helpful to run 'at' gaps instead of 'through' them, meaning that you're running straighter and, therefor, quicker)

I can't think of how to explain stepping, but the best way is just to watch the likes of Shane Williams, Jason Robinson and Bryan Habana and seeing them do it.

<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (King D'arcy @ Jan 3 2010, 11:36 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}></div>
I've got a question for you, Crappy.