• Help Support The Rugby Forum :

Few Questions

RWC2011Fan

Academy Player
Country Flag
New Zealand
Club or Nation
Ireland
I've never actually played rugby and I'm still new to the sport, so forgive me if these are dumb:
- Can you attempt a drop goal from the restart?
- I recall seeing a clip of a player being lifted in order to catch a conversion attempt? Ha anyone seen a clip or might know what I'm talking about?
- When and why did they stop using tees for restarts (or was it only kick-offs)?

I've never actually played rugby and I'm still new to the sport,so forgive me if these are dumb:
- I recall seeing a clip of a player being lifted in order to catch a conversion attempt? Ha anyone seen a clip or might know what I'm talking about?
- When and why did they stop using tees for restarts (or was it only kick-offs)?

Don't worry, no question is ever too dumb (only suggestions for rule changes fall under that category...)

a) No, you cannot attempt a Drop goal off a kick-off (as far as I'm aware). If so Francois Steyn would probably be the highest paid player in the Top 14
b) Never seen the clip you're talking about... Not sure why they would lift to catch it?
c) Not the faintest idea

Don't worry, no question is ever too dumb (only suggestions for rule changes fall under that category...)

a) No, you cannot attempt a Drop goal off a kick-off (as far as I'm aware). If so Francois Steyn would probably be the highest paid player in the Top 14
b) Never seen the clip you're talking about... Not sure why they would lift to catch it?
c) Not the faintest idea

Seen it a number of times with long range penalties. The defending side will throw up a backrow forward between the post to try and stop the ball going over. Never seen it work

I've never actually played rugby and I'm still new to the sport, so forgive me if these are dumb:
The first one is no (Cf Frans Steyn, as mentioned before)