• Help Support The Rugby Forum :

Greece name final World Cup squad

Teh Mite

TRF Legend
TRF Legend
Feb 16, 2005
Country Flag


Club or Nation


Greece name final World Cup squad
Greece manager Otto Rehhagel has named his final 23-man squad for the World Cup in South Africa.
Liverpool defender Sotiris Kyrgiakos and Celtic striker Giorgos Samaras have both been picked.
Greece shocked the football world when they won the European Championships in 2004 but they have been unable to follow up that success.
They failed to qualify for the 2006 World Cup and lost all three games in the 2008 European Championships.
They made it to South Africa after beating Ukraine in a play-off, having finished second to Switzerland in their group.

They will be relying heavily on goals from Hertha Berlin's Theofanis Gekas, who scored 10 during the qualification campaign.
Rehhagel left AEK Athens midfielder Grigoris Makos and Panionios defender Giorgos Tzavelas out of his final squad.

Greece squad:
Goalkeepers: Michalis Sifakis (Aris Salonika), Alexandros Tzorvas (Panathinaikos), Kostas Chalkias (PAOK Salonika).
Defenders: Giorgos Seitaridis (Panathinaikos), Loukas Vintra (Panathinaikos), Evangelos Moras (Bologna), Socrates Papastathopoulos (Genoa), Sotiris Kyrgiakos (Liverpool), Avraam Papadopoulos (Olympiakos), Vasilis Torosidis (Olympiakos), Nikos Spiropoulos (Panathinaikos), Stelios Malezas (PAOK Salonika).
Midfielders: Kostas Katsouranis (Panathinaikos), Alexandros Tziolis (Siena), Giorgos Karagounis (Panathinaikos), Sotiris Ninis (Panathinaikos), Christos Patsatzoglou (Omonia), Sakis Prittas (Aris Salonika).
Forwards: Angelos Charisteas (Nuremberg), Dimitris Salpigidis (Panathinaikos), Pantelis Kapetanos (Steaua Bucharest), Theofanis Gekas (Hertha Berlin), Giorgos Samaras (Celtic).

Story from BBC SPORT:

Latest posts