Grounding the Ball

Discussion in 'General Rugby Union' started by UrsuS, Apr 26, 2005.

  1. UrsuS

    UrsuS Guest

    Can anyone who watched the Bulls vs Chiefs on Sat explain the Refs call with regard to the grounding of the ball ...
    The player clearly has his foot on the line within the in-goal area when he applied pressure to the ball. The ref said to the TMO that he was not interested in the player being out of bounds but only in the grounding. Does this imply that a player can be lying out of bounds, reach in an apply pressure to the ball and the try will be given....

    Quite confusing
     
  2. Forum Ad Advertisement

  3. Black|Raven

    Black|Raven Guest

    umm, now thats just wrong....isn't he out? wait.....HE IS..
    'tis very confusing
     
  4. harrison2468

    harrison2468 Guest

    I think it's explained on PlanetRugby.com
     
  5. Mr. Laxative

    Mr. Laxative Guest

    Nah he's out definately. He's playing ball while intouch. Also if u r on the ground and play the ball (in touch or not) it's a penalty.
     
  6. goeagles

    goeagles Guest

    The rule is that just to ground it in the in goal, you don't need to be in the field of play. However, if you pick it up while out of bounds and then ground it, you are in touch. Rule should probably be amended.
     
  7. UrsuS

    UrsuS Guest

    Yeah, Rule 22.4 (G)
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE </div>
    Hehehe Live and Learn
     
  8. woodie

    woodie Guest

    TMO can only answer the questions that the referee asks him, ie, if he didn't ask about whether or not he was in touch, then the TMO can't tell him if he was or wasn't. Stupid rule.
     
  9. jitb

    jitb Guest

    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE </div>
    Thats why the referee did not ask the TMO if he was in touch ! Because that was not the issue. The referee did not need to know if the player was in touch to make the decision !!
     
Enjoyed this thread? Register to post your reply - click here!

Share This Page