• Help Support The Rugby Forum :

How to be a better winger?

R

rugbywinger

Hey, I'm 15, from the UK and I play for my school team. Alot of the squad also play for the local team.

I played last year for my school, but didn't really play well, and was abit of a wuss to be fair <_<

Yesterday, I had two 30 minutes matches consecutively, and I realised that there's SO MUCH to improve on.

I have an athletic build, im about 12 stone, and about 5 "11. My fitness is pretty crap, and I'm a noob at rugby rules and that.

Honestly, my roles on the pitch are: tackle people on the opposite team on my wing, and run when i got the ball. I'm in need of a coach, one might say.

That also furthers a question. Would anybody be willing to send me their MSN address, and teach me, and coach me?

If not, reply please :D :p

Cheers

B.

Mate it's difficult to explain and what you need to improve on, but let me try. Watch rugby games on tv and see what top class international wings are doing, work on positional play too. You will need to support the fullback either in kicking or dealing with up and unders. Look for work, a lot of wingers just hang around on their side of the field and make the odd tackle or run with the ball if they get it. Don't shoot up in defense like Bryan Habana and go for the intercept every time. When on defense just mark your man and try to get him into touch, don't let him take you on the outside.

When you get the ball run straight, it's the shortest way to the try line, work on your step like Shane Williams did to Habana. It's pretty easy to do and once you've nailed it can't be beaten. Work on your interaction with the outside center, eg. if he has the ball do you stay on the outside or do you cut to the inside etc.

Do you play 11 or 14? Try and settle in one position, 11 is very different from 14 and vice versa.

Good luck!

<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (Bull @ Nov 13 2008, 06:12 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}></div>