• Help Support The Rugby Forum :

"I'm new to playing rugby" questions

F

Flyin Ryan

When can I pick the ball up in a ruck if I'm on defending side? There's some times where I'm in the ruck or near it and see the ball behind the tackled player with no players around it, but I'm unsure on whether I'm allowed to go get it or not.

<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (Flyin Ryan @ Sep 4 2009, 07:12 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}></div>
When can I pick the ball up in a ruck if I'm on defending side? There's some times where I'm in the ruck or near it and see the ball behind the tackled player with no players around it, but I'm unsure on whether I'm allowed to go get it or not.[/b]

1) 1st thing to think about: Is it a ruck?

A 'ruck' is when there is at least one player from each team who is on his feet contesting the ball on the ground.

2) If 'Yes', then you must a) stay on your feet if you enter the ruck and B) keep your hands off the ball. To gain posession you have to ruck/ push your opponent(s) out of the way.

3) If 'No', then you can run in and take the ball. The tackled player must release posession; if he doesn't you should get a penalty. Of course, if another opponent gets there while you're trying to take the ball, then a ruck is formed and you must let go.

<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (gingergenius @ Sep 4 2009, 02:41 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}></div>
<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (Flyin Ryan @ Sep 4 2009, 07:12 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
When can I pick the ball up in a ruck if I'm on defending side? There's some times where I'm in the ruck or near it and see the ball behind the tackled player with no players around it, but I'm unsure on whether I'm allowed to go get it or not.[/b]

1) 1st thing to think about: Is it a ruck?

A 'ruck' is when there is at least one player from each team who is on his feet contesting the ball on the ground.[/b][/quote]