• Help Support The Rugby Forum :

Increasing armpower

B

bates

Hi guys,

The local pool is closing for maintenance and I want to work on my arm muscles.
I never really worked out with weights, but for the moment I have two weights of 10 kg here.

Any good advice on how many times I should lift them and the amount of series.

Thnx in advance.

I'm assuming they're dumbells and 10kgs is a good weight. I'm no expert but I workout regularly about 4 times a week. I do arm curls but not full ones I do 7 halfway then 7 from halfway position to full then finish it off with 7 full extended ones.

Take a look at this video this is what I was trying to describe

http://de.youtube.com/watch?v=C07WgWSY4LI

Everything you do, do it niceeeeeeee and sloooooooooowwwwwww so you feel the burn, then speed up and slow down again.

Forgot to say that you have to rest your muscles to gain because when you workout you're tearing your muscle fibre then when you rest them they reattach forming stronger bigger muscles.

A good idea is to workout every 2nd day Mon,Wed,Fri then maybe a light workout Sat or Sun depending on how active you are during the weekends. This way you have recovery days in between and your muscles won't fatigue too much because over working them can be just as bad as not working them.

Also try to eat a bit more because if you have no fat to burn your workout will start stressing your muscle and you'll actually lose muscle rather then gain.

Thnx for the great tips guys.
How many times should I repeat this?

I was thinking of spending 30 - 60 min every time I would work out as this is the time I spend in the pool.
I also do 50 Push ups before breakfast every morning so I already have some arm muscles

Thnx for the great tips guys.
How many times should I repeat this?

I was thinking of spending 30 - 60 min every time I would work out as this is the time I spend in the pool.
I also do 50 Push ups before breakfast every morning so I already have some arm muscles