• Help Support The Rugby Forum :

Learning a Language

best_fullback

Academy Player
Country Flag
England
Club or Nation
Bristol
Right, I want to learn Spanish. I have always wanted to learn a language and I definitely want to learn at least one or two more than my native tongue in my lifetime.

Has anyone learned another language? and if so, what did you use?

My brothers girlfriend recommended me www.babbel.com; an online speech-recognition site that teaches and scores your use of the language. It costs £5 per month if I use it for 6 months. I was just wondering if anyone has had success with any other forms of self-taught language? I know about programs such as Rosetta Stone, but I am on a budget, so forking out £100+ isn't going to be possible.

Any help will be appreciated guys! :)

When my parents learnt French they went to evening classes at the local college - not sure how viable that would be for you

I know that Rosetta Stone is pretty pants for actually learning a language - it's more of a phrase learner/flashcard type thing (it'll show a screen of pictures, then read out a phrase, and you click on the picture that corresponds, and things like that) - alright for increasing vocab, but not much else

When my parents learnt French they went to evening classes at the local college - not sure how viable that would be for you

I know that Rosetta Stone is pretty pants for actually learning a language - it's more of a phrase learner/flashcard type thing (it'll show a screen of pictures, then read out a phrase, and you click on the picture that corresponds, and things like that) - alright for increasing vocab, but not much else

College classes may be viable if I can find some! :p Are your parents fluent?

My Mom pretty much is now, and my Dad gets by
They do live in France 6months out of the year though, so that obviously helps