• Help Support The Rugby Forum :

Never Played League

M

mutlock

Hello forum, I'm new to this and I would like your advice?

I have never played league before. I'm playing in a league charity match this weekend. I think there are ex-professionals in the other squad. I'll be 11 or 12. What do I do, just stand two out from the dummy half and charge like a lunatic? Defence will be hard as well, it'll be "heads up " stuff as opposed to union where I just follow the ball. What about double tackles? who goes high/low - or do you just not think about it? If a little guy runs at me with the ball, can you just lift him up and take his arms away and have the ball? Do you never push in scrums?

Mat

Do you never push in scrums?
[/b]

Now that would be what I would find the hardest to adjust to - no contest in there.
Maybe you can do a William Web Ellis on them? You know, demonstrate what the scrum should be all about..?

Sorry that I can't help you with more(or any) answers to your questions - the closest I came to a competitive league game was touch rugby :p

I'll assume you're playing for the Casuals (or as some people like to call them, Northampton RL).

If you've ever played union touch rugby, you'll understand the basics of standing back from a breakdown, advancing the defensive line as a unit, offloading in the tackle and keeping the ball alive for a set of six.

In the scrum, DO NOT PUSH. This is vital - Think of an uncontested scrum in union. However, if the ref isn't looking, giving your opposite number a sly punch in the mouth is acceptable, nay, expected!

For double hits, just go in and make the tackle. Chances are that you won't both there at the same time so you'll see your spot easily enough. Just be sure to get up and get square before the blind ******* with the whistle pings you.