• Help Support The Rugby Forum :

new in general and got some questions

david12103

Academy Player
Country Flag
United States
hello my name is alex i am not only brand new to the forum i am brand new to the idea of playing rugby my grandfather played both american football and rugby and loved rugby more i played american football and want to try rugby.
alright my only question for now is and i know it's asked a lot but i need to know what position sounds good for me i understand that that is a hard call for someone to make over the internet but with fairly exact detail hoping you can get in the ball park.
height - 5'10 or 177 CM
weight - 200 pounds or 91 KG
100 meter sprint - just under 10 seconds
i have decent fitness and could be faster if i would lose a few extra pounds.
I am a very good tackler leading my state for 2 years in american football tackles most in the open field.
compared to most west coast Americans i am quite muscular i have very powerful legs and my agility is quite high i can go for a walk to full speed in about 3 to 5 steps and my lateral running ability is outstanding.
i am physically and mentally quite tough, and i love to smash people, dont realy care about glory at all.
those are my strengths here my weaknesses

At full speed i have trouble changing direction quickly because of my weight the inertia it just is to great.
i have trouble catching in american football never practice i was a linemen so with practice would probably improve.
i get very one minded sometimes get to focus on sometimes I.E. the ball.
also don't know many of the rules because i literally just started everything watching and practicing with some friends.

hopefully yall can help me out thanks