• Help Support The Rugby Forum :

NZ Olympics 7s squads announced


Academy Player
Jan 4, 2005
7s squads announced, both mens and womens.

In the mens squad, the notable omission is Liam Messam. Team has got a lot experienced 7s players, although a lot the experienced players haven't featured much in the last season that just finished to injuries, so hope they have broken their rust with some warm up tournaments (and don't get injured again). It's a powerful team no doubt with majority being well proven 7s players. They lack out and out speed, however there is a lot of powerful and skill players.

Kurt Baker has also missed out. Another very notable omission IMO. He had been very dependable in a turbulent season for NZ7s.

The New Zealand Olympic Men's Rugby Sevens team is:

Scott Curry (captain) (Bay of Plenty)
Sam Dickson (Canterbury)
DJ Forbes (Counties Manukau)
Akira Ioane (Auckland)
Rieko Ioane (Auckland)
Gillies Kaka (Hawke's Bay)
Tim Mikkelson (Waikato)
Augustine Pulu (Counties Manukau)
Teddy Stanaway (Bay of Plenty)
Regan Ware (Waikato)
Joe Webber (Waikato)
Sonny Bill Williams (Counties Manukau)

Last edited:

Latest posts