Place kicking: follow through

Dutchrugby

Academy Player
Country Flag
Netherlands
Club or Nation
Rebels
Hi everyone!
This is my first post so first I'll introduce myself. I'm Jesse, 20 years old and I come from the Netherlands. I started playing rugby 2 years ago after 10 years of playing football (soccer). I've played rugby for 1 season but because I went to university I unfortunately have chosen not to play this season. My first year at university is almost over and next season I really want to start playing rugby again so I've just started training.

There's someting I need a little help with. I practice a lot of place kicking and after a few good days of practice I can kick the ball over the post from 35 meters (in front of the posts) without much difficulties. The thing is, now I want to work on my distance.

Because I've played football for such a long time, I know how to kick. The problem is, the techniques to kick a football or a rugbyball are a bit different. I've managed to change some things but the one area I have the most difficulties with is the follow through at the end of the kick.

It seems I just can't shift my weight through the kick and stand on my kicking leg after the kick like James Hook in this video at 1.57 This video of Matt Giteau shows my problem the best I guess, (except for the fact that I point to the posts with my kicking leg after the kick): [video=youtube;FxPPZRXlg3g]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FxPPZRXlg3g&feature=related[/video]

Is it because I lean back too much? How can I prevent this from happening? Are there more ex-footballplayers with the same problem?

Thanks in advance!

Last edited by a moderator:
I haven't got much experience at place kicking. But if your leaning back too much, maybe you need to re-work your stance for long range kicks. Make it more compact and lower your centre of gravity.