Pools for the first British & Irish Cup announced

Discussion in 'RFU Championship / British-Irish Cup' started by Thingimubob, Jun 1, 2009.

  1. Thingimubob

    Thingimubob Guest

    The Pools for the first ever British & Irish Cup were announced on the 28th of May. The competetion is made up from teams directly beflow the top tier of Wales, England, Scotland and Ireland, who will be put into 4 Pools of 6. The Competition will take place over 5 weekends during the Autumn Internationals and the RBS Six Nations, with the Semi Finals on the 24th of April and Final on the 15th of May.
    The Pools are:

    POOL A: Exeter Chiefs, Leinster, Cornish Pirates, Newport, Plymouth Albion, The Thistles

    POOL B: Coventry, Bristol Rugby, Heriot's, Munster, Neath, Nottingham

    POOL C: Aberavon, Bedford Blues, Llanelli, London Welsh, Moseley, Ulster

    POOL D: Ayr, Birmingham & Solihull, Cardiff, Doncaster Knights, Pontypridd, Rotherham Titans

    Source: http://www.wru.co.uk/20926.php

    Am looking forward to seeing this competition, should be a good competition.
  2. Forum Ad Advertisement

  3. Bullitt

    Bullitt Guest

    R.I.P. Pilkington cup. :(
  4. Prestwick

    Prestwick Guest

    Oooooh, almost makes you want to get relegated! Think of all the travel opportunities!

    Sadly this means the idea of a Division 2 team going all the way Pertempts Bees style to take on the big boys is now long gone :(
Enjoyed this thread? Register to post your reply - click here!

Share This Page