• Help Support The Rugby Forum :

PS2 - Set plays

N

neilster2005

Pulling my hair out with set plays from rucks - scrums no problem - its completely random, sometimes they work/execute and other times not, though choosing kick will always flash and turn green?
Anybody know what determines this, is there are specific point where you have to select eg classic etc?

Cheers

I am not sure, but it usually takes a few seconds for your play to come up. On normal it comes up quicker. Sometimes on hard you just have to get the ball out before your #9 turns green. I noticed that if my #10 was in the ruck, my #9 would hardly ever turn green in time for me to call a play. However, I am a rookie on this play-calling stuff so I hope someone else helps you out.

It is all about time. Particularly on Hard. If you wait for all of your players to be in position for a set play from a ruck, you run a real risk of turning over possession of the ball (as you would in real rugby). The longer it takes, the greater the likelihood of losing the ball to the opposition. If your key players for the set play get into position quickly, you can still execute a set play from a ruck on hard (and it can be effective), but if the field is very broken up and players on both sides are disorganised, you are usually much better to get the ball out ASAP and run with it on the fly (without attempting set play). You have to judge this and you get a feel for it after a while. Works pretty well I reckon. Set plays give the opposition time to regroup. Sometimes it really is (just like in real rugby) better to just pick the ball up and GO FOR IT!

Don't put anyone into the ruck. You may end up with no one to do a set play move.

You can't call particular moves...even from a scrum...if you are too close to your own try line...can only choose kick to get out of danger zone.......