• Help Support The Rugby Forum :

Questions on Boot/cleat selection in Canada - Southern Ontario. Prop.

tbh

Academy Player
Country Flag
Canada
Club or Nation
Canada
Hello everyone,

I have been playing rugby for 12 years now mainly at loose or tight prop - however, the most difficult challenge I have faced in the rugby world is selecting the correct boot...

On the surface, this doesn't seem like a very difficult task. However, the "surface" or field is typically what makes things difficult where I play. The majority of the fields have a firm to hard surface, and I always found I was sacrificing comfort for power when selecting a cleat.

Other factors such as wide and flat feet, large stature, and skin that calluses very easily have made it difficult in selecting a cleat that combines power AND comfort (durability would be nice too!)

If anyone has any information to add that would help in future selection of boots, it would be much appreciated. I have tried to give as much information below on what I have tried so far.

Brief summary of size:
-flat feet
-wide feet
-6'2
-145kg
-size 12 (USA)

Brief summary of cleats and issues:

Rugby cleats:
-issues with studs poking through, or breaking through inside of cleat (causing big PAINFUL calluses on bottom of feet)
-not being wide enough so having to wear longer/not proper fit of cleat
-heal blisters (only one cleat has done this to me so far - http://images.sportsshoes.com/product/A/ADI3336/ADI3336_400_1.jpg)
-low mobility
-tearing apart easy

Soccer Cleats:
I actually find these the most durable so far and most comfortable. They are also easier to move around in, conserving energy, but my assumption is that these are not the best for power or grip?
Ones I have tried so far:
http://cdn3.volusion.com/goz35.avhz4/v/vspfiles/photos/SM-PU102511-04-2.jpg?1381832849 matching this stud pattern.