• Help Support The Rugby Forum :

RD Pro12: Glasgow Warriors - Newport Gwent Dragons (07-10-2011, 19:30)


Kanko Krazy!!!
TRF Legend
Jun 18, 2010
Country Flag


Club or Nation



Firhill Stadium, Glasgow (07-10-2011, 19:30)


Referee: Marius Mitrea (FIR, 3rd competition game)
Assistant Referees: Andy Macpherson, Bob Nevins (both SRU)
Citing Commissioner : Paul Minto (SRU)

Glasgow boss Sean Lineen has warned his side they that their impressive away form will count for naught if they can't start picking up wins at Firhill.
The Warriors have already ended Leinster's 28-match unbeaten home record and last week stunned Cardiff Blues in the Welsh capital, but have still to pick up a RaboDirect PRO12 win in Glasgow, suffering a demoralising defeat to Treviso last time out.
And with the Newport Gwent Dragons visiting on Friday night, and without an away win all season, Lineen has urged his team to finally end their wait for home success.

He said: "All the elements that combined to see us win in Wales, the powerful set-piece, the clinical edge when we created opportunities, and the relentless energy from all 23 players, will need to be there once more against the Dragons.

"It's vital that we get another positive result this weekend, both to generate a bit of momentum and to reward our home crowd, who've yet to see us win a competitive game at Firhill this season.

"We were very pleased with how things went in Cardiff, but the message all week has been that we've got to avoid the same drop in accuracy and decision-making we saw between the Leinster and Treviso games.

"We've had our ups and downs against [the Dragons] in the past, and we know we'll be in trouble if we allow them any chinks of light in terms of how we approach the game. We're looking for another huge, 80 minute effort from the players, with urgency and precision the key ingredients.

"If we get that, we'll stand a very good chance of giving our supporters the result they deserve after the frustration of Treviso."

Lineen has made two changes to the side which downed the Blues 34-13 with Ryan Grant and Chris Fusaro coming in for Gordon Reid and James Eddie respectively.

Meanwhile the Dragons have made four changes from the side which handed Ulster a second successive defeat a week ago at Rodney Parade.

Man-of-the-match Jason Tovey drops to the bench with Matthew Jones taking over at fly-half while Ashley Smith is also not risked, development player Lewis Robling taking his place.

Up front Phil Price and Jevon Groves come into the pack where they replace Nathan Williams and Lewis Evans respectively.

(source: RD Pro12 website)

[TABLE="class: grid"]
[TR][TD] Glasgow [/TD][TD] [/TD][TD] Newport [/TD][/TR]
[TR][TD] Stuart Hogg [/TD][TD] 15 [/TD][TD] Martyn Thomas [/TD][/TR]
[TR][TD] Tommy Seymour [/TD][TD] 14 [/TD][TD] Tonderai Chavhanga [/TD][/TR]
[TR][TD] Rob Dewey [/TD][TD] 13 [/TD][TD] Tom Riley [/TD][/TR]
[TR][TD] Troy Nathan [/TD][TD] 12 [/TD][TD] Lewis Robling [/TD][/TR]
[TR][TD] Colin Shaw [/TD][TD] 11 [/TD][TD] Mike Poole [/TD][/TR]
[TR][TD] Duncan Weir [/TD][TD] 10 [/TD][TD] Matthew Jones [/TD][/TR]
[TR][TD] Colin Gregor [/TD][TD] 9 [/TD][TD] Wayne Evans [/TD][/TR]
[TR][TD] Ryan Grant [/TD][TD] 1 [/TD][TD] Phil Price [/TD][/TR]
[TR][TD] Finlay Gillies [/TD][TD] 2 [/TD][TD] Tom Willis [/TD][/TR]
[TR][TD] Michael Cusack [/TD][TD] 3 [/TD][TD] Nathan Buck [/TD][/TR]
[TR][TD] Tom Ryder [/TD][TD] 4 [/TD][TD] Adam Jones [/TD][/TR]
[TR][TD] Rob Verbakel [/TD][TD] 5 [/TD][TD] Robert Sidoli [/TD][/TR]
[TR][TD] Rob Harley [/TD][TD] 6 [/TD][TD] Jevon Groves [/TD][/TR]
[TR][TD] Chris Fusaro [/TD][TD] 7 [/TD][TD] Gavin Thomas [/TD][/TR]
[TR][TD] Johnnie Beattie [/TD][TD] 8 [/TD][TD] Andrew Coombs [/TD][/TR]
[TR][TD] [/TD][TD] [/TD][TD] [/TD][/TR]
[TR][TD] Pat MacArthur [/TD][TD] 16 [/TD][TD] Rhys Buckley [/TD][/TR]
[TR][TD] Gordon Reid [/TD][TD] 17 [/TD][TD] Nathan Williams [/TD][/TR]
[TR][TD] Ed Kalman [/TD][TD] 18 [/TD][TD] Kieron Jenkins [/TD][/TR]
[TR][TD] James Eddie [/TD][TD] 19 [/TD][TD] Lewis Evans [/TD][/TR]
[TR][TD] Ryan Wilson [/TD][TD] 20 [/TD][TD] Hugo Ellis [/TD][/TR]
[TR][TD] Henry Pyrgos [/TD][TD] 21 [/TD][TD] Joe Bedford [/TD][/TR]
[TR][TD] Alex Dunbar [/TD][TD] 22 [/TD][TD] Geraint O'Driscoll [/TD][/TR]
[TR][TD] Peter Horne [/TD][TD] 23 [/TD][TD] Jason Tovey [/TD][/TR]