• Help Support The Rugby Forum :

Salary Cap

Q

QLD

Well I think its about time they introduced a salary cap into the S14 - The Crusaders winning it 7 times from 13 seasons is proof that we need one!
Only 4 teams have won it in S14 history.

No wonder fans are losing interest in S14, its too predictable, the Crusaders dominance is not fun for everyone. Its gonna keep happening for years to come if the dingbats at sanzar dont do anything about it. They keep even work out a finals format!

It's all relevant i suppose. Michael Schumacher won F1 all the time. I kept thinking how on earth can people still watch when the outcome is inevitable... Same thing with Valentino Rossi in MotoGP, or Pete Sampras in tennis. The list goes. We just don't have anything better to do than hope and have faith i guess...

It's starting to become just like the English Premier League in poofball - which is not good.

I'm no expert on this but doesn't the English super league have a salary cap? That's still dominated by the same couple of teams each year.

Perhaps a draft system like they have in the NFL would work? The worst teams get first pick from the university players etc'.

I don't know how that would work out but its just a suggestion.

I think the ESL is in the process of adding a salary cap, so the effects will only be seen in a few years. I think the cap would be good, if the australian teams were more competative more often i think many league fans would start watching union.

The SL already does have a salary cap which is based on the clubs turnover (x% of their income or something like that) and has had it in place for years.