• Help Support The Rugby Forum :

Standard of Refereeing

• Thread starter lineens weegie army
  • Start date
L

lineens weegie army

Is it just me or has the standard of refereeing in the ML been absolutly appaling this season?

I dont know if weve just been unlucky, but I can think of 2 decent refs who have come to Firhill this season, some who are alright and some whom I wouldnt trust with a schools game. Take fridays game for example (Glasgow v Scarlets) - I know few people here will have seen it, but there were several incidents where Glasgow players kicked ahead and gave chase only to be taken out off the ball. Now im no expert on the rules, but that is illegal and punishable by a yellow (or Red in extreme cases) and if the ref deems that a try would have been scored, a penalty try.

Now with the score at 0-3, Parks hit ahead from inside the Scarlets 22, and would have scored had 2 opposing players not come together to block his path. penalty try? definatly! should one or both walk? if the ref can tell which one is at fault then yes! and Wilkinsons decision? play on! :eek:

Fast forward 30 minutes or so, and just before HT the Warriors are leading 13-6, but are under a lot of pressure - until Thom Evans makes a break and kicks ahead and looks favourite to gather his own kick until bam! a Scarlets player runs straight into him, making him tumble to the ground! Now not only is that cynical foul play (a red card with no discretion is it not?) but it is downright dangerous given the speed at which the players collided. Wilkinsons decision? HT! :eek:

Then into the second half, and the Warriors have been piling on the pressure, and the Scarlets keep giving away penalties 5 metres out (including infringments at the scrum) but Wilkinson keeps giving them another chance. and then when the Warriors do get a penalty they tap it and are tackled instantly (again, should be a penalty try? certainly given the fact they did it twice!) but Wilkinson turns a blind eye!