• Help Support The Rugby Forum :

would like some advice

THE_DINGMEISTER

Academy Player
Country Flag
Hong Kong
I study at boarding school in edinburgh and play lock for my school's 2nd XV. I am currently 16 years old, about 6 feet 2 and weigh about 80kg.

I would like to break into the 1st XV for next year and would like some advice on safe workouts that would help me improve strength, speed and power.

Despite being positionally a lock I have very little experience of jumping in the lineout;)
I pack down behind the tighthead and despite our front row weighing nearly 300 kg I am sometimes under a lot of pressure. My second row partner is bigger and heavier than me so perhaps should he be locking down that side?

Due to some idolising of Richie (Mccaw)^_^, I try to play like an openside, attempting to win quick turnovers if possible or alert the defense to overlaps.

However, there is a lot of competition for a place in the backrow and because of my lack of height and my school's lack of front row I am considering a conversion to the front row. I have covered as loosehead for half a season two years ago and felt that I did not fare too badly, however there is a massive change in quality between these age groups.

Could I get advice on how to attain a healthy shape :p (oxymoron.. I know) for a front rower and advice on whether I should make this move as well as further information which would be helpful either for front row, second row or back row?

Furthermore I suffer from a clinical lack of fitness at the start of seasons and I would like to get some further advice on effective fitness techniques.

Thank you.

I study at boarding school in edinburgh and play lock for my school's 2nd XV. I am currently 16 years old, about 6 feet 2 and weigh about 80kg.

I would like to break into the 1st XV for next year and would like some advice on safe workouts that would help me improve strength, speed and power.