• Help Support The Rugby Forum :

Youth coaching and game management philosophy - is this acceptable?

Justplay

Academy Player
Country Flag
UK
Club or Nation
Widnes
I am a UKCC Level 2 coach for both rugby codes and am a member of the coaching staff for an U18 club squad who are not playing "top tier" rugby. The league we are in is coming to an end and I recently received an e-mail from a fellow squad coach regarding the philosophy he would like to adopt for the final game of the season. What do forum members think of the philosophy? The e-mail is pasted below (club names removed):

Now we have come to the sharp end of the season and have one league game left. We are top and *** are second. *** have three games left, against *** and *** both away, and then against us at *** in the final league game of the season on 10th December. Whatever happens in the next two *** matches, the final match between us will be very important and could decide the winners of the league.

In light of this, everything that is done in training and matches between now and 10th December should be focussed on preparing the players for that match. At U18 we are competing to win therefore I want to give the squad the best chance of success. By this I include selecting our strongest possible squad from available players, and keeping the strongest possible players on the pitch for as long as possible for that final match.

The coach who wrote the e-mail above has already denied some youth players game time this season and last season by keeping them on the bench during games where he believed winning was more important than player participation. Does anyone think this philosophy is justified at youth level?

Hmm that this thread has attracted no replies or comments indicates that's it's a difficult conundrum with no readily available definitive answer. The stance taken by the coach here is wrong on the one hand, quite understandable on the other.