• Help Support The Rugby Forum :

Completely new to rugby: Help!

AlanN

Academy Player
Country Flag
England
Club or Nation
England
Hi. I thought I would join for a bit of advice on watching rugby. I am a complete armchair rookie but for some reason it has started to appeal to me (I am a sports fan generally: mainly tennis, F1 and athletics), probably due to the world cup going on.

I must admit, it took me a while to even figure out why there are two types of rugby but I've cracked that one now.

I think league appeals to me slightly more because of its reputation of being a tougher game, but I have noticed that most of the teams are from northern England. Nothing wrong with that, but it doesn't give me much to cheer for when I am sitting in Kent.

Any thoughts would be much appreciated.

Rugby Union is better as far as i'm concerned, and Rugby League is also played in Australia and New Zealand.

Rugby Union is better as far as i'm concerned, and Rugby League is also played in Australia and New Zealand.

It's actually played in many countries... It's just not that popular in those countries.

South Africa also has a League team, the Rhinos... but they are a small group, much like the animal they are named after...

i suppose union is a bit harder to understand with all the laws, but thats what makes it so great. i can get a little bored watching league if im honest

It's actually played in many countries... It's just not that popular in those countries.

South Africa also has a League team, the Rhinos... but they are a small group, much like the animal they are named after...

That I like:lol:

It's the most popular sport in PNG.

Lol on the rhino line. Have numbers dropped off sharply? I was in SA in 2006 and you couldn't turn a corner in the safari park we visited without seeing one! I was told we dropped quite lucky to be fair.

Edit: