- Joined
- May 6, 2010
- Messages
- 2,112
- Reaction score
- 102
The laws of the game have to be looked at. They're almost impossible to ref and theres too much that comes down to personal opinion which can be biased not to mention wrong.
Ah, cheers for the clear up!
Certainly does seem like Kaplans fault (though the not-straight and Rees stepping in field to throw the quickly taken lineout are down to the touch judge)
Most of the other referees I have spoken to believe that Jon Kaplan was primarily at fault for this.
If you watch the video and listen to he and the Assistant Referee Peter Allen talking, you can hear Kaplan cutting him off in mid sentence. Allen was trying to explain what happened and Kaplan just cuts him off, wanting a yes or no answer to a question which required more than a yes or no.
1. Allen was standing on the line-of-touch with his flag raised and his other arm out. This indicates the possibility of a quick throw in is ruled out.
2. When the Welsh player throws in the ball, Allen allows this as a quickly taken line-out, (which is not the same as a quick throw in)
3. Kaplan has his back to all of this, and doesn't see any of it.
4. Kaplan thought it was quick throw-in and he asks "Was it the correct ball"? (note: he didn't ask if it was the same ball, and this is crucial)
5. Allen replies "Yes" because he is thinking quick line-out, not quick throw in, and he knows it doesn't matter which ball is used.
This was all down to a cock-up in communication. Kaplan asked the wrong question, and then would not allow Allen to talk to him. Allen may cop some of the blame for not being assertive enough, but the responsibility for this error lies fairly and squarely on Kaplan's shoulders.
If we get technical though and this was a quick line-out then as RTE showed in one angle the lineout was not straight and therefor should've been a scrum/lineout to Ireland.
Also there was Irish players in the line and regardless it cant be even taken quick and 99 times out of 100 a ref would stop it.
Aaah. I thought he asked, "Was it the correct CALL?" Easy to misunderstand when the Welsh are screaming blood of heaven!4. Kaplan thought it was quick throw-in and he asks "Was it the correct ball"? (note: he didn't ask if it was the same ball, and this is crucial)
Ireland got a few non-straight throws their way through the game. Part and parcel of the game at times. I do believe Kaplan was judged on his entire performance over the last couple of weeks which have been dire.
I'm not arguing that was just saying if it going in to fine detail
My view is match over and result stands so lets move on and well the good refs will always rise to the top.
Yes, BOD scored on a nice line from Bowe's magic.To be fair the game will always be remembered for the try.