Kit replacements

Discussion in 'Rugby Challenge Series' started by AntYoungs89, Apr 13, 2018.

  1. AntYoungs89

    AntYoungs89 Academy Player

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2016
    Messages:
    34
    Country Flag:

    UK

    Club or Nation:

    Leicester

    Evening lads,

    I've always been a great admirer of peoples releases on here, kits etc.

    However I'm now seeking a bit of advice, I am currently in a phase of renaming/completing all the unlicensed teams for my game, however I'd like to add the Jaguares etc. I've built the squad but I just don't know how to put their kit in. I ideally would like to overwrite a non used kit like the stock RC3 ones, I've tried renaming the file (downloaded from here) however it doesn't work like that, clearly.

    Can someone please advise so I can carry on my little mission of upgrading the game?

    Thanks
     
  2. Forum Ad Advertisement

  3. Zay

    Zay Academy Player

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    154
    Country Flag:

    New Zealand

    Club or Nation:

    Chiefs

    Step 1: I'll try and explain it for you, I was in exactly your shoes a few months ago and just taught myself through trial and error. But basically you need to download a hex editor. I use this, it's not amazing, but it does the basics well and is free with no strings. https://mh-nexus.de/en/hxd/

    Step 2: Once downloaded. Find the kit you want to change. Let's use Cristians Jaguares kit for example. It is "Strip_dif_215_" Drag it into hex. like so and scroll down to where you see "Strip_dif_215_"
    https://gyazo.com/e420cc327581e498a91364eb041e0f6b

    Step 3: You simply decide which kit number you want to replace it with. So let's say you wanted to to replace it with another blank kit in game we'll use 329 as an example, you would rename it. "Strp_dif_329_a" ( (h) for home )
    https://gyazo.com/7db8239ca0abefe93d069c785c3f902f

    Step 4: Save in hex, and then rename the file itself to the kit you wish to replace it with. so "Strp_dif_329_a"
    https://gyazo.com/49213e9bd0727da95b348f2e8185ef72

    Step 5: Drag and drop it into your "strips" folder "Steam\steamapps\common\Rugby Challenge 3\data\pc\actors\player\strips"
    https://gyazo.com/a34df02ee77604c14cb5d9fe5aaed16a

    Step 6: Check in game that it has replaced it properly. if you can see the strip in the team editor like this, chances are you have done it successfully, congratulations. If it crashes, try again. Just don't forget to keep a back up of any files you replace just incase!
    https://gyazo.com/282c0221135c6c9c2df80cdebcc23d92

    I'm sure you already knew how to do most of that, I just wanted to show the whole process just incase somebody completely new comes across it and wants to learn. Good luck. I'll make another post under this about how to rename the kit in game to "Jaguares Away/Home"
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Zay

    Zay Academy Player

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    154
    Country Flag:

    New Zealand

    Club or Nation:

    Chiefs

    Renaming a strip in game to Something else

    Step 1:
    After opening in your hex editor, drag and drop your current database file into it. (Excuse my messy profiles folder)
    https://gyazo.com/25969efdeee7120f7af4bae54bddcd84

    Step 2: So, we just replaced "strp_329", which in game is "Custom 037 Away", as the Jaguares away kit, so in the search bar just type the kit you want to rename.
    https://gyazo.com/58b903481f6f9096a5b4f889b9cc98df

    Step 3: Rename and save. Remember when renaming a "Custom kit" make sure you type over the ~ like I did, otherwise your kit won't be in alphabetical order in game. Replace any remaining letters with 0's in the actual hex.
    https://gyazo.com/d9fb80c22a92323910e43b4ac58a789d

    Step 4: Save in hex like normal, go in game, take a look and boom. There is so much you can do with your database in hex, like renaming stadiums, teams, players, basically anything. Just take a look around and explore. Remember to keep a back up though! Good luck.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. AntYoungs89

    AntYoungs89 Academy Player

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2016
    Messages:
    34
    Country Flag:

    UK

    Club or Nation:

    Leicester

    Thank you man, I've seen plenty of chat in regards to Hex editing but I've never taken a look at it until now. I've got a free evening tonight so I suspect I'll be renaming stadiums and completely modding away.

    Thanks again bro, hopefully I pick it up and it all works fine.
     
  6. kingkv

    kingkv Academy Player

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Johannesburg South Africa
    Country Flag:

    South Africa

    Club or Nation:

    Blue Bulls

    Good day Zay
    seeing that you have a lot of RC3 PC game knowledge i need help on a few isssues i was hoping you could help me.

    1. each time i try and access career mode on my pc the game would crash, now i have been informed its either i reinstall the game or verify the files I've tried both but still unsuccessfull any better suggestions.

    2. how do i install a database for all the leagues where i will have the latest players in each team of every league without having to manually add players into a team

    3. how do install faces and hairstyles so that im able to see them when im creating a new player or editing and old player.


    your help would be highly appreciated and any1 else with suggestions ans solutions feel free to communicate them to me.
     
  7. Matt7557

    Matt7557 Academy Player

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2016
    Messages:
    229
    Location:
    Sunny Florida
    Country Flag:

    United States

    Club or Nation:

    Old Blue

    your best option right now it to just wait for the Mega Mod to come out. There is a group of modders that have done a complete database overhaul of the game and a redraw of the graphics. It's coming out soon. If I were you I would just reinstall and play it as is until that mod comes out.
     
Enjoyed this thread? Register to post your reply - click here!

Share This Page