Questions from a noob

Dai Perk

Bench Player
Country Flag
United States
Club or Nation
Scotland
Hey everyone,
I am very new to Rugby, but it has quickly displaced American football as my favorite sport.
On the "Eggchasers" podcast, they talk about "Super Rugby style" being different than Premiership style. I have watched 10 or 15 matches of both leagues, but as a newcomer, I can't discern what the fundamental style difference is.
Can someone please explain the big difference(s)?
Cheers!

To keep it super simple, the main differences between the SH and NH is that the former is quicker, with less kicking and more 'ball-in-hand' rugby, while the latter tends to involve more emphasis on the set pieces and kicking. Skill levels are typically higher in the SH so you'll see more offloads etc.

Clearly those are sweeping generalisations, but I would expect these to be fairly agreeable to most posters.

What may be making it trickier for you to see a difference is that we've had a hot summer in Europe without much rain. That means that the pitches are a bit harder and more conducive to faster, running rugby than they will be in a couple of months' time.

Wow, thanks so much for the thoughtful reply, that is very useful!

So, when they talk about the Premiership bringing in more Kiwi coaches who want to implement a more SH style, they're talking about more phase play (I hope I'm using that correctly), much like we saw from Bristol against Gloucester in Rd. 3? Starting phase play deeper in one's own territory?

It's funny, because when I think of SH players, naturally I think about people like Beauden Barrett, who I think of as spontaneously kicking the ball a LOT... but as I said, I'm a total noob.

Thanks again, BPM! :)