Saracens question

Dai Perk

Bench Player
Country Flag
United States
Club or Nation
Scotland
Hello again, my friends.

This past weekend, Saracens had a very impressive win over Gloucester. The announcers kept mentioning that the Saracens were hardly committing any players to the ruck, freeing up a ton of defenders horizontally, thus frustrating the Gloucester attack.

As a noob, I could see easily what they meant, but my question remains - what is the tactic Gloucester could have used to combat this? It was clearly very effective, so it made me wonder why everyone doesn't play that style?

Thanks in advance, and thanks to all who have already been so kindly indoctrinating me - it's hard to find answers over here in the USA!

Cheers,

-Dave

The usual tactic to counteract this is to play close to the ruck with pick and goes and one out runners off the scrum half. You are nearly guaranteed to retain possession after every tackle so you can just do this over and over until eventually you make enough ground that the defence has to pull in tighter.

The main reason you don't see all teams defending like this is that it just doesn't work as well in European Cup and International matches. At that level teams are both more physical and more creative in attack, so if you allow them continuous possession they will find gaps in your defence even if it is a well organised 14 man wall. You're more likely to stop them by attacking the breakdown and slowing them down.

You generally find this tactic more in the GP as English refs are very strict in what the jackler can get away with whilst allowing the attacking team to dive into the breakdown like a ******* missile, so it's just not worth it a lot of the time. Apparently the RFU have spoken to the referees about changing this, so hopefully we'll see a more aggressive battle at the breakdown as the season goes on.