• Help Support The Rugby Forum :

First time playing as 25 y/o

jpmf7

Academy Player
Country Flag
Argentina
Club or Nation
Argentina
Hello guys. So I'm 25 years old, I always liked rugby but for various reasons I couldn't get into it. Now I want to start playing, and I wonder if it's a good time to start at my age. I play football regularly, my form is not the best but I can be an entire hour playing getting tired from time to time. I'm ~178cm tall and around 85-90kg. For what I've seen, I like the scrum-half and fly-half positions, I don't see myself as a forward (I lack strength) nor fullback or wing.
Anyways, the question is: do you think it's worth to start playing at my age? What position would fit me the best, considering I'll be a total noob and not that athletic?

It's always worth starting the game at any age. I've known people pick up rugby a lot later in life than that.

As far as positions go, don't worry about it too much. Get yours to training and just see how things go. New players often play a game or two on the wing just to get used to the game. But I wouldn't stress as I'm sure you'll end up playing more than one position.

Ps. If you prefer being a hero you should try playing in the forwards. The backs are kinda like the kids where as the forwards and real men!

As always - turn up to your local club, watch a few, get to know the coaches and players; turn up to training, and try out a few different positions off the bench, and see which one best suits your skills / instincts, or simply where you enjoyed playing the most.

At shitty local level, there's minimal difference in body type between any of the players - certainly outside the front five, only minimally there.
For a late starter, the only positions I'd advice against until you've played a few years, are front row and halfback - the former is dangerous if untrained, the latter relies too much on game-hardened instinct.

Agreed.

Worth it? 100% yes.