• Help Support The Rugby Forum :

getting a new guitar

F

feicarsinn

so I've been playing for a few years now but i feel its time to go electric. was planning on getting an epiphone les paul special II. the reviews seem good and its down to 170 euros. planning to spend another hundred or so on the amp anyone got any other recommendations? thanks

I've got to be honest here, I don't rate Gibson guitars at all, and Epiphone are only really a decent buy because of the value they offer. Having said that I don't like Fender guitars either, which is odd because I love their Bass guitars. I'm using a Jazz Bass and a Stratocaster guitar at the moment. Love the Jazz but hate the Strat.

If I was going to recommend a guitar it'd be a Gretsch hollow bodied model of some sort, lovely pieces of kit. But very expensive unfortunately. Which is the only reason I haven't bought one yet.

For that money an Epiphone isn't a bad choice, my friend's got one and in all honesty the sound and playability are of a decent enough standard, they just aren't to my tastes. They may well be to your tastes which is what buying a guitar is all about.

Yeah I have an Epiphone Les Paul, and they're nice guitars - the necks are a bit thin for my liking though. My best recent buy was an Ibanez semi-acoustic which I bought at the beginning of last year - beautiful guitar, and plays like a dream. Pretty cheap, as well - given the quality.

Epiphone models of the better Gibson guitars are actually very good. I used to have an Epiphone Les Paul Custom before I got a Gibson SG. Can't go wrong with an Epi LP model in my opinion.

Also, have you looked into Mexican made Fender Stratocasters? Pretty much the same deal as a US made one but a f*** load cheaper, without losing a whole deal of quality.