• Help Support The Rugby Forum :

Hello, Rugby 1973

O

O'Rothlain

I have been playing Rugby for roughly ten years now. If we put a time stamp on my introduction and the birth of my obsession with the sport it would be approximately 1998. This firmly places all of my exposure to Rugby well into the modern, professional erra.
Everyone talks about one match in particular: 1973, Barbarians v All Blacks in Wales. I have just managed to get my hands on this game and I expected things to be a bit different, but wow. Rugby, it seems, has come a long way.
First thing I noticed was the All Black Haka. It was no where near the rehearsed precise beast that it is today. It looks as if half of them barely know what they are doing. This was my alert that things might be a bit different. The first scrum really grabbed my attention. No "Crouch, Touch, Pause, Engage!" No "Couch, Pause, Engage!" (yes, I've been around long enough for that modification). They just bound on to eachother and slammed together. I've always heard rumours of the old style lineout, but never have seen them. much improved from the mass chaos it seems they used to endure.
The match itself seemed really open. Just flinging the balls out to the wings. We can still learn alot from these amateur fellows. Who had the idea to up the score value of the try? Four Points? I was a bit surprised. I can only imagine some of your grandads view on the modern look of rugby.

A try also used to be 3 points. The Afrikaners still called a try a 'drie', which means three in English.

I've got some very old rugby documentaries on a few VHS cassettes (the tape was recorded in the early nineties) with footage from a game in the mid 1950's, SA vs Scotland I think. And it was nuts back then lol. The crowd is basically on the pitch, players have wack numbers on their backs like a no. 31 and like you said, very open. Knock ons were common, VERY common.