Hookers

Discussion in 'General Rugby Union' started by OhioSensei, Jul 22, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. OhioSensei

OhioSensei Guest

Hello Teachers! :)

I am new to the forum so please can all you ruffy tuffy guys be gentle with me.

I am a Japanese exchange student and I became interested in rugby after attending the world cup qualifiers on a visit to Hong Kong. :girl_drink1:

Anyhows I have a question and I am sorry if this is in the wrong sub-forum.

Can someone please explain to me the etymology of ‘Hooker’.

Thanking you all in advance.

:heart:

2. Forum Ad Advertisement

3. KZNSharksFan

KZNSharksFan Guest

Well the word "hooker" simply refers to the player who stands in the middle of the front row of the scrum with the number 2 on his back. It came about because the no.2 "hooks" the ball with his foot as it is inserted into the scrum.

4. InsaneAsylum

InsaneAsylum Guest

do not go to the red light district and ask this same question... you may encounter a pleasant surprise. with extra happy ending :)

5. Pieter Botha

Pieter Botha Guest

Give my regawds to the hookers!

THE DUTCH HOOKERS!

[​IMG]

6. OhioSensei

OhioSensei Guest

Thank you for this very kind and knowlegeable reply.

However I am a tad confused as to how and why the #2 'hooks' the ball... as a hook is like a curved spike... Captain Hook wore in the movie...

Was rugby a game played by pirates?

Apologies as I am not so understanding of rugby terms... Is the red-light district a term for the sin-bin where you go if you get a red card and if so what is the pleasant surprise and happy ending?

I am confused, again?

Thank you for your reply and awaiting clarification.

Do the Dutch play mixed rugby?

I have never been to a rugby match in Holland. It looks interesting.

Thank you for your reply.

7. Bullitt

Bullitt Guest

Oh, teh lulz!

What he means is the ball is "hooked back" with the back of the foot, the bend of the players leg during the act forming a hook.