• Help Support The Rugby Forum :

Loose head advice needed.

Mattygwrufc

Academy Player
Country Flag
England
Club or Nation
Wigan
Evenin all. I'm new to the forums so please feel free to prod, poke and pick at my query.

So anyways. I'm a hooker by trade been playing there for a few years. However the time has come for me to be a real man and move to prop. I've been told it's going to be loose head as its probably easier to grasp (not my words).

Basically I'm a 5ft10 bloke average build weighing 15 and a half stones.

I'm not weak for my weight in fact I isually squat more than my prop colleagues. I have been watching videos of mtawaria and obviously Os du randt but I think I need a bit more guidance from the more available players.

Basically I need an old head on broad shoulders to guide me.

Any help is greatly appreciated!!

Thanks in advance.

Hey,
I've played prop for 16 years, been a head coach, and a forwards coach. I can lend a bit of advice.
People tend to say loosehead is easier. I think it can be to a certain extent, but I play tighthead more often than not, and prefer it. Propping is all about where you find your niche. So, good luck, and welcome to the big show!
The loose and tight props have different objectives. Your goal is to hold the scrum steady, and keep it together. The opposition tighthead is trying to break things apart for you.
The main thing to keep in mind is that you're not just cannon fodder on the front line, you're a strategic beast, yoked to drive a winning scrum.

1. Watch your foot placement – wide base and feet slightly staggered (left foot slightly ahead of right foot – reverse for a tight head).
  2. Work on core strength. You'll need it to hold yourself steady against an experienced tighthead. You should incorporate planking into your workouts (even a daily thing). http://www.t-nation.com/training/superhuman-planks