Newish here and need advice.

MadDog1999

Academy Player
Country Flag
Ireland
Club or Nation
Munster
Hello guys,
I am kinda new to these forums and I need advice on forwards positions. I have liked rugby for years but I only started playing this year. I am 16 male and 5ft 2inches. I am 9 stone but I am going to be increasing my weight for the rugby and I will be doing this by building muscle. So, I had my first training session ten days ago(missed training 3 days ago due to it being cancelled because of weather) and I loved it. I had a really good time taking part and also meeting the team! I was asked by the coach hire if I would like to play in forwards or backs so I said forwards as I am interested in playing here. I am interested in playing hooker because I was told height isn't all that important with hooker. What muscles do I need to develop? Am I too small? Can the exercises be done without equipment? Also, should I wear a scrum cap for hooker position? What's it like wearing one?

Thanks guys, hope I like it here!,
MadDog1999

Personally I'd say that you're probably better suited to the backs, but if your heart is set at being a forward then:
What muscles? Rugby is a game that involves your whole body so you'll want to work on everything but legs should be the priority.
Too small? Maybe, but if you play well as a forward it shouldn't matter too much how big you are.
No equipment? Yes exercises can be done without equipment, but it definitely helps to have some.
Scrum Cap? That's up to you. Maybe try borrowing one, see if you like it or not. Personally I can't stand them, they get you very hot and sweaty but a lot of people like them.

Thanks for the reply. I love contact and that is why I have my heart set on forwards. Ya, there is a very helpful person on the team and he wears a scrum cap so I'll ask him. If forward doesn't work out what about scrum half? But hopefully forward works out.

Thanks,
MadDog1999