• Help Support The Rugby Forum :

Scrum Question

Holycow

Academy Player
Country Flag
Ireland
Club or Nation
Munster
Hi guys, i'm new to rugby and i'm finding it hard to understant what goes on in the scrum.

Ill start here

What is meant be the thighthead locking the scrum?

The tighthead is the one that's under the most pressure in the scrum. This is basically because his head goes between the opposition looshead and hooker, and therefore recieves pressure from both of those players, whilst the looshead only recieves pressure from the opposition tighthead. It's of course a little more complicated than this, but in a very basic form it is true to some degree. Therefore if the scrum is to go well, the tightead is the main man that determines this. If he doesn't take a backwards step then there's a good chance the rest of his pack won't either i.e. he locks the scrum.

Last edited:
The tighthead is the one that's under the most pressure in the scrum. This is basically because his head goes between the opposition looshead and hooker, and therefore recieves pressure from both of those players, whilst the looshead only recieves pressure from the opposition tighthead. It's of course a little more complicated than this, but in a very basic form it is true to some degree. Therefore if the scrum is to go well, the tightead is the main man that determines this. If he doesn't take a backwards step then there's a good chance the rest of his pack won't either i.e. he locks the scrum.

Thanks dullonien, so for the tighthead to be successful he has to atleast hold or drive the oppisition loosehead and hooker back.

Whats the hookers roll in the scrum besides hooking the ball back.

Not really sure the hooker does much hooking anymore considering the ball is generally fed straight into the second row's feet lol.