• Help Support The Rugby Forum :

Protein with no decent workout-Pointless?

whatamunson

Academy Player
Got a skinny mate wanting to bulk up. He has started eating 5 eggs a day and is now using
those frozen, concentrated egg white things daily. I reckon hes about a week away from wasting his money
on protein powder.
He doesnt use a gym, has pishy little dumbells that my 12 year old cousin could lift and thinks his job
as an office furniture removalist counts as a work out (there is no heavy sustained lifting). To put it bluntly
he is lazy and doesnt have the will to commit to a proper gym workout that would give him the desired results.

I'm no expert but Im sure this extra protein he is taking in is pretty pointless without hitting the weights properly.
Would I be correct? While unlikely to cause him harm I'd like a few of the experts on here to back me up so I can
at least try and get him into the gym or ditch the egg fetish.

The eggs shouldn't do anything wrong ib fact they are good for you. Protein without exercise is just ******* the money away.

From my experience working with a rake of rugby players - protein is in fact the least of your worries. We have had guys putting some serious bulk using 0.8g per lb of protein a day a one of those meals was from a vegetarian base.

Focus on upping your carb intake and getting as strong as hell. Most of the carbs should come from hypoallergenic sources such as brown rice, spuds, sweet potatoe, yams and squash and not gluten containing foods like bread and pasta (unless gluten free). 2-3g per lb should do it.

Also knock back 2-3 tbsp of good fats at every meal.

The bottom line is this - are you getting stronger at every training session? No - then work on this. How much bulkier do you think you will be squatting 60kg x 10 compared to 140kg for 10?

Good Luck!

John
http://www.fitnessforrugbyblog.com