• Help Support The Rugby Forum :

"Rugby for beginners"

Yulia

Bench Player
Hello everyone!
Unfortunately, didn't find any topic for "new joiners" here.
I'm not a big expert in rugby (well,not an expert at all to be honest): I was watching it a couple of times on TV,and fell in love with this game! Now,due to Coronavirus,have a bit more free time for it,so,as a total "rugby beginner" I would like to ask you to recommend me:
1) "golden rugby matches" = what are the most interesting/the best rugby matches you can recommend me to watch?
2) 10 best rugby players/teams that you can name - I'd check all the games with them
3) what are the main rugby championships? Are there any current to watch on TV?
4) do you know something about rugby teams/ players in Russia and Poland? I'm originally from Russia and live in Poland (so kindly forgive my mistakes in English), tried to google about our rugby - looks like it doesn't exist at all...

Thanks! Hope you'll give me some recommendations,guys!

This is often referred to as one of the best test matches in history , All Blacks v Australia 2000

I'm a highlanders (so bias), i found the 2015 final a very enjoyable game

I also found our games against the 2017 B&I lions game great

sorry only highlights for the last two

Hi Yulia,
regarding point 4 there is a russian team, Enisei-STM, that this year played in the Challenge Cup. challenge Cup is the second european cup, by importance, after the Champions Cup.
http://www.enisei-stm.ru/ is the site web of the team. Unfortunately I don't know more about Russian Rugby (I'm a novice too in this sport).

p.s. regarding the championships at the moment in eourope they're suspended due to coronavirus.
But the following are the most important:
Premiership (that is the england championship)
Top14 (that is the french first division. They have a second professional division that is the Pro D2)