Sam Burgess named on Bath bench Vs Harlequins tomorrow night

Every Time Ref

First XV
TRF Legend
Country Flag
England
Club or Nation
Bath
It's official - the rumours are true that Slammin' Sam could make his debut tomorrow night at the Rec against Quins.

The adrenaline-driven part of my psyche is screaming with excitement OH MY ****ING GOD IT'S SAM BURGESS PLAYING FOR BATH but, rationally, I worry that it is very early ... I at least thought he'd play a few A team games before he was considered for first team selection. He will be raw, he will make mistakes and in all honesty it's likely that his team mates will have to cover for him at times. It's tricky because, however great he may potentially be, getting him up to that potential will involve sacrificing some of the team's effectiveness as a unit in order to incorporate a complete novice - not just a professional debutant, but a debutant at any level of rugby union. How Ford handles that balance between the needs of Sam and the short-term needs of the club to win matches will be crucial to both his and Bath's success this season. I wouldn't be surprised if he actually doesn't get on tomorrow, especially if it's a close one - I think maybe Ford will name him in a few match day squads (possibly only at home), waiting for the opportunity to introduce him with minimal pressure to him and risk to the team's chances of winning. There's also a chance that clever coaches will be able to target him in certain ways.

On the other hand ... OH MY ****ING GOD IT'S SAM BURGESS PLAYING FOR BATH!!!!

If he does get on, there are a few technical / tactical things I'll be looking out for. I don't follow league, but as I see it these are crucial areas of difference he will need to get his head round:

• if he gets involved in any rucks and how he does (I assume he'll play in the centres for now)
  • body position into contact - as well as not using his forearms, which seems to be common in league?