Tedium Warning: This post contains Law discussion which some users may find tedious, boring and difficult to understand. I advise reader discretion. Readers who are interested in the nuances and intricacies of the Laws of Rugby, are invited read on.
I don't think Kaplan in general makes any more mistakes than any other iRB panel referees. If he did, he would be stood down from the panel, or allocated lower grade games (a la Matt Goddard and Marius Jonker).
I will admit, however, that he has been off his game this season, and has been well overtaken by both Craig Joubert and Mark Lawrence among the SA Referees.
The problem is that the iRB only frames the Laws and individual unions have their own interpretation on some things. A number of National Unions are guilty of putting their own "spin" on certain aspects of the Law.
Here is a typical example of what I mean. Look at the diagram and read the associated text;
Red v
Blue. This is
Red's defending 22m line
► A
Blue player kicks the ball and it rolls into touch at "A" and comes to a stop at "B"
► A
Red player picks up the ball, takes it to "C" and takes a quick throw in to a
Red player at "D"
► The
Red player kicks the ball directly to touch on his 10m line
Where is the line-out?
The Law says
LAW 19.1 THROW-IN
NO GAIN IN GROUND
(b) When a team causes the ball to be put into their own 22. When a defending player plays the ball from outside the 22 and it goes into that player’s 22 or in-goal area without touching an opposition player and then that player or another player from that team kicks the ball directly into touch before it touches an opposition player, or a tackle takes place or a ruck or maul is formed, there is no gain in ground. This applies when a defending player moves back behind the 22 metre line to take a quick throw-in and then the ball is kicked directly into touch.
► If you are refereeing in Europe, it is not considered that the ball has been carried back. Gain in ground is allowed, and the lineout is on the 10m line.
► If you are refereeing in a SANZAR country, Japan or the USA or any other place outside Europe, it IS considered that the ball has been carried back. Gain in ground is NOT allowed, and the lineout is opposite "D".
Why the two different interpretations? Because the Law Definition of
"the 22" is unclear, and different rugby governing bodies have differing views on what they mean. In this case, Law 1 defines the
"the 22" as being
"the area between the goal line and the 22-metre line, including the 22-metre line but excluding the goal line." .It then shows this diagram.
It is clear that "the 22" does not extend beyond the touch line, so
► in the SH we interpret the first line of Law 19.1...
" When a team causes the ball to be put into their own 22" to mean that if a player takes a ball that was not previously "in the 22" and throws it in to a team-mate inside his 22, then he has "caused the ball to be put into his own 22", therefore there can be no gain in ground.
► in the NH whey look at the part which says
"This applies when a defending player moves back behind the 22 metre line to take a quick throw-in and then the ball is kicked directly into touch" and interpreat that as excludng the other scenraio as a "no gain" situation.
Incidentally, both NH and SH agree on the following two scenarios;
CARRIED BACK
______________________NOT CARRIED BACK
NO GAIN IN GROUND
_________________GAIN IN GROUND
Just this one aspect of Law 19 generated several pages of discussion on the international Rugbyrefs forum (of which I am a member)
It is also just one example of where interpretations differ. There are many, many more.
You may well ask "why doesn't the iRB sort this out?". Well that would require leadership; the terms "IRB" and "leadership" are mutually exclusive, and should never be used in the same sentence.
One thing is for sure thought is this it NOT the referees' fault. They have to follow the guidelines issued by their National Unions. There are consequences for them if they don't.
Absolutely agree 100% with this. Not only should there be no meeting of teams/referees prior to matches, the coaching staff should not even be allowed to comment publicly on or about the referee prior to a match. The master of this tactic of trying to get inside the head of the referee for upcoming matches was Eddie Jones. He was a shocker!!
This is one aspect of the Laws where materiality applies. There is no blanket Law that all players going to ground MUST be penalised. They are merely liable to penalty.
► If team 'A' have the ball in the back of the ruck, and a player from Team 'A' drives an opponent to the ground, this is not considered to have a material effect. Play on
► If team 'B' have the ball in the back of the ruck, and a player from Team 'A' drives an opponent to the ground, this
is considered to have a material effect, and Team 'A''s player will be penalised for going off their feet.
The problem with Spreaders is that you couldn't shut him up!! The players got a running commentary for 80 minutes. I'll never understand why he didn't go into the media after he retired. He would have made an ideal "colour" commentator, as his understanding of Rugby's nuances was the best of any referee I have ever seen.