• Help Support The Rugby Forum :

Soccer (football) boots vs. American Football cleats

Cooper35

Academy Player
Country Flag
United States
Club or Nation
United States
Hi guys, I'm new to rugby but I've found that as the time goes on It's becoming more and more addicting. For the past few months I've been playing more often and my playing needs now exceed the capabilities of regular athletic shoes. Being in America the selection of rugby boots is naturally low (I've never even seen a pair, even on rugby players).

I've been reading that soccer boots are all right as long as I swap out the studs, but I like the ankle support from American football cleats better. I played American football my whole childhood up until I turned 18 so I'm far more comfortable with cleats, but the toes aren't designed for kicking. I threw on my old worn out pair and I had less control than usual. Soccer boots are designed for kicking obviously but I'm worried that the lack of ankle support could injure me in the long run. I play pretty much all positions, as there aren't really a lot of people to play with, so we switch it up a lot. I did a search but didn't find an answer. Any Americans or Canadians out there have experience with this?

Hi mate!

Glad to see a newcomer to our great sport. If you get soccer boots that have plastic studs such as these ones;
http://www.worldrugbyshop.com/departments-footwear-firm-ground-rugby-boots-adidas-adidas-absolado-x-trx-fg-cleats--black-white-red.html

Then you won't have to swap the studs at all! Soccer boots are pretty much exactly the same as rugby boots. Backs like Daniel Carter, Jonny Wilkinson and Mike Hercus wear these, and we call them "blades".
The alternative is a metal studded boot, which is primarily used by forwards or on really soft ground.