• Help Support The Rugby Forum :

RC4 Player Editor

Bathrugga8

Academy Player
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
38
Reaction score
12
Country Flag

England

Club or Nation

Bath

Hey @Frans.Hendrik I'm meaning in the "Player Editor" tab where they have positions to choose from. If you change it, it won't update in the game end. Also, by filter I was meaning this little part doesn't seem to work if you click on it View attachment 9289 I didn't realise about the other filter.

Also with the Japanese league, I plan on just using those dummy players in those teams already (french div 2) unless you wanted me to use other dummy players? How are we going to assign what dummy players should be used for what? I see this becoming problematic if we all generally want to use the same database. Should we create / have you already created a spreadsheet we can adapt to with players taken etc.?
While I feel like the Japanese Top League will be a good addition to the career mode instead of French D2 should we not be matching fake players to their real life versions instead of making them all dummy players and using them to fill new teams?
 

colossss

Academy Player
Joined
Jul 5, 2016
Messages
475
Reaction score
778
Country Flag

New Zealand

Club or Nation

Hurricanes

While I feel like the Japanese Top League will be a good addition to the career mode instead of French D2 should we not be matching fake players to their real life versions instead of making them all dummy players and using them to fill new teams?
That's a fair call as I know there are a lot of cross-over players (ie. a player in the samoan team playing also in the french div 2 team - these were based off real people etc.), although what I think we're trying to establish is almost a clean slate (ie. removing allllll the dummy players from all unlicensed teams and divi'ing up / assigning a set of ID's to each one of those teams again. Thoughts @Frans.Hendrik ?
 

Not Mike Brown's Sock

First XV
TRF Legend
Joined
Dec 22, 2014
Messages
2,120
Reaction score
654
Country Flag

UK

Club or Nation

Harlequins

Is it not worth putting them on fanhub maybe or am I missing something ahah?
 

Bathrugga8

Academy Player
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
38
Reaction score
12
Country Flag

England

Club or Nation

Bath

Is it not worth putting them on fanhub maybe or am I missing something ahah?
Don’t understand the finer points of the coding behind it but Fanhub as it is right now is a complete mess and should be our last tool. All it does is duplicate the players you download instead of replacing the on disk ones. The way I can think it works is that instead of matching the id of the player on Fanhub to your original database and replacing it it just treats the downloaded player as a new custom player and assigns it a new id in the database. We should aim to get a clean database with fake players renamed to real players before adding new ones
 

colossss

Academy Player
Joined
Jul 5, 2016
Messages
475
Reaction score
778
Country Flag

New Zealand

Club or Nation

Hurricanes

Don’t understand the finer points of the coding behind it but Fanhub as it is right now is a complete mess and should be our last tool. All it does is duplicate the players you download instead of replacing the on disk ones. The way I can think it works is that instead of matching the id of the player on Fanhub to your original database and replacing it it just treats the downloaded player as a new custom player and assigns it a new id in the database. We should aim to get a clean database with fake players renamed to real players before adding new ones
Yup pretty much. As much as we can, STAY AWAY from fanhub player downloads. It's more for the general user who just wants one or two downloaded players. There is a cap on the amount of players we can have so each default player in the game is precious.
 

Frans.Hendrik

Academy Player
Joined
Feb 19, 2011
Messages
225
Reaction score
217
I agree, we can do it both ways. We can either match with their real counterparts (which would be great) and then we tag the remaining unused players as dummy.
 

Frans.Hendrik

Academy Player
Joined
Feb 19, 2011
Messages
225
Reaction score
217
Hey @Frans.Hendrik having issues with setting positions for players that already exist. I change the positions in the editor but it doesn't change them when I have a look in the game itself. Also, a possibility for the filter to work so that we can search players by name etc? Thanks as always.
let me look into that for you. I'll enable the filters for the other as well.
 

colossss

Academy Player
Joined
Jul 5, 2016
Messages
475
Reaction score
778
Country Flag

New Zealand

Club or Nation

Hurricanes

Hey @Frans.Hendrik I think we need to start to look at somewhat of a "default" database file before we go too deep with team lineup customisations etc. What you mentioned before about replacing the fake players with their real identities.. as these were based off real players. Example where things can go wrong currently was the French Div 1/2 teams having some international players and therefore if you rename, say, Toulon's players right now, you'll find a few familiar names filling up the internationals as well (ie, Samoa, Italy etc.). The reason why I bring this up now is that it could get veeeerry messy soon, so the sooner we do this the better. I'm willing to help where need be to get this up and running.
 

Frans.Hendrik

Academy Player
Joined
Feb 19, 2011
Messages
225
Reaction score
217
Thanks man, I can help with quick stuff but I won't be able to run with it, as i'm bit busy at work. I' also adding backup function into the editor, so it'll create a backup of your DB before every edit.

I'd say that if its based off real players maybe we should rename them? Then if there is no real players counterparts we then dummy player them. And that should be the stock DB.?
 

Ruggaz

Academy Player
Joined
Jun 25, 2020
Messages
2
Reaction score
1
Is anyone else having errors trying to open the db with version 0.6?
Previous versions work fine for me but not this one.

I get this error:
"Unhandled exception has occurred in your application. If you click continue, the application will ignore this error and attempt to continue. If you click quit, the application will close immediately.
Arithmetic operation resulted in an overflow."
 

henkid

Academy Player
Joined
May 23, 2010
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Is anyone else having errors trying to open the db with version 0.6?
Previous versions work fine for me but not this one.

I get this error:
"Unhandled exception has occurred in your application. If you click continue, the application will ignore this error and attempt to continue. If you click quit, the application will close immediately.
Arithmetic operation resulted in an overflow."
Same for me, I tried installing the localdb as well.
 

Latest posts

Top