• Help Support The Rugby Forum :

All Blacks Coach - ? who gets it?

Larksea

First XV
TRF Legend
Country Flag
New Zealand
I can't honestly say I'm 100% keen on Hansen getting the job. I don't think his personality is quite right for the Head coach role. One of the best things about henry is how he held the team of coaches and players together for so long, all the people involved respected Ted a lot and Ted looked after them. I don't think Steve could do the same. One person who I think has the people skills Henry has is Ian Foster - but I'm not 100% convinced with him as a coach - his selections over the last two years with the chiefs have miffed me a bit.

I always thought of Ted as a "people coach" as much as a Rugby coach, I don't see that in Steve.

I hope it's not a forgone conclusion that the job will go to Hansen, seems to be so.

I read somewhere that Hansen will be the head coach until Deans his contract with Australia is finished. Then Deans will take over.
The good thing is that most of the starting player will stay in NZ, meaning they will keep most of the squad.

I think Hansen is really one of the only options.

Ian Foster is one of the most unsuccessful coaches in New Zealand Rugby.
John Kirwan has worked magic with Japan but was average with Italy and he hasn't ever coaching in New Zealand which rules him out.
Ribbie Deans is with Australia.
Warren Gatland is with Wales.
Vern Cotter is genuinely a good option and is interested. Certainly in the capacity of backs coach he'd be fantastic, if not as head coach which I wouldn't mind at all.
John Mitchell is with the Lions and possibly South Africa.
John Plumtree is with the Sharks and won't be going anywhere.

It seems like it's a two horse race between Cotter and Hansen. I'd probably pick Cotter just because I think he's got a better rugby mind, but I think Hansen has probably earned it.

Henry's confident in Hansen, I'm confident in Hansen... Nuff said.